FIRST CIRCULAR

We are pleased to announce that the

2nd Conference on Advances in Radioactive Isotope Science (ARIS 2014)

will take place in

Tokyo, Japan from June 1 to 6, 2014.

Maintaining the successful first ARIS conference held in Leuven in 2011, we hope to discuss recent developments and future perspectives of science with radioactive isotopes.

The conference will be held at the ITO International Research Center, the University of Tokyo

ARIS 2014 is jointly organized by the RIKEN Nishina Center for Accelerator-Based Science and the Center for Nuclear Study, the University of Tokyo. It is sponsored by the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP), and will be supported by several institutions in Japan.

The conference will start on June 1 (Sun) with public lectures in the afternoon and the registration opening in the evening, and will end in the afternoon of June 6 (Fri).

We look forward to welcoming you in Tokyo. On behalf of the ARIS 2014 organizers,

Hideto En'yo, Chair Takaharu Otsuka, Co-chair

<BACKGROUND>

The ARIS conference series was launched with the first meeting in 2011 in Leuven, Belgium as a result of merging the "International Conference on Exotic Nuclei and Atomic Masses (ENAM)" and the "International Conference of Radioactive Nuclear Beam (RNB)" in its scientific part with the hope to be the flagship conference in the relevant field.

<SCOPE>

The scientific scope of the conference follows most of the well-received features of the 1st ARIS and previous conferences:

- nuclear structure
- nuclear astrophysics
- fundamental symmetries and interactions
- nuclear reactions and responses
- nuclear properties including atomic masses and fundamental constants, nuclear moments and radii, rare decay modes, and nuclei at the drip lines
- nuclear EOS and its implications
- heaviest elements and fission
- radioactive ion beam production and developments of experimental devices
- computational developments
- applications
- other related issues.

<SESSIONS>

The scientific program is composed of plenary, parallel, and poster sessions.

<VENUE>

The conference will take place at the "ITO International Research Center", which is part of the Hongo Campus of the University of Tokyo located in the central part of Tokyo.

http://ribf.riken.jp/ARIS2014/venue.html

<REGISTRATION, FEES, and ABSTRACT>

The registration fees for the conference, the instructions for their payment, the call for abstracts, and the instructions for abstract submissions will be communicated in the second circular and will be posted on the symposium web site. The second circular will be sent in November 2013.

<PRACTICAL INFORMATION>

Information about travel, transportation, and accommodation will be provided in the second circular and on the symposium web site.

<COMMITTEES>

International Advisory Committee	
Ani Aprahamian	USA
Juha Aysto	Finland
Daniel Baye	Belgium
Yorick Blumenfeld	France
Angela Bracco	Italy
Richard Casten	USA
Vivek Datar	India
Jens Dilling	Canada
Piet van Duppen	Belgium
Charlotte Elster	USA
Sydney Gales	France
María José García Borge	Spain
Magdalena Górska	Germany
Dominique Guillemaud-Mueller	France
Xiao Guoqing	China
Ikuko Hamamoto	Japan

Wick Haxton	USA
Walter Henning	Germany/Japan
Seung-Woo Hong	Korea
Robert Janssens	USA
Jan Jolie	Germany
Björn Jonson	Sweden
Dao Thien Khoa	Vietnam
Karlheinz Langanke	Germany
Silvia Lenzi	Italy
Alinka Lepine-Szily	Brazil
Marek Lewitowicz	France
Jie Meng	China
Witold Nazarewicz	USA
Filomena Nunes	USA
Yuri Ts. Oganessian	Russia
Marek Pfützner	Poland
Patricia Roussel-Chomaz	France
Bradley Sherrill	USA
Cosimo Signorini	Italy
Jeffrey A. Tostevin	UK
Robert Tribble	USA
Dario Vretenar	Croatia
Ye Yanlin	China

Organizing Committee	
Hideto En'yo	RIKEN (Chair)
Takaharu Otsuka	CNS, U. Tokyo (Co-chair)
Tohru Motobayashi	RIKEN (Scientific Secretary)
Kentaro Yako	CNS, U. Tokyo (Scientific Secretary)
Nori Aoi	RCNP, Osaka
Hideyuki Sakai	RIKEN
Hiroyoshi Sakurai	RIKEN
Susumu Shimoura	CNS, U. Tokyo

Takashi Nakatsukasa	RIKEN
Takashi Nakamura	Tokyo Tech
Hiromi Yokoyama	U. Tokyo
Michiharu Wada	RIKEN
Program Committee	

Koichiro Asahi	Tokyo Tech
Akira Iwamoto	Juntendo
Toshitaka Kajino	National Observatory
Emiko Hiyama	RIKEN
Masayuki Matsuo	Niigata
Masanobu Yahiro	Kyushu

<CONTACT and WEB PAGE> Inquiries related to the symposium should be sent by e-mail to: aris2014@ribf.riken.jp

The symposium web site is http://ribf.riken.jp/ARIS2014















